What is the point of Freedom?

iDuskk

Rising User
Freedom! Member
Jun 9, 2016
YouTube
I'm still fairly new to the freedom family, but I've been a member for like a week or two now, and I'm still wondering what the point really is. Not trying to come off as a hater or anything, but what does Freedom provide me that I can't find elsewhere?

I mainly joined this network for the feedback on my videos, and to network with other content creators, and to try to just make my channel grow faster. But so far I'm not really seeing anything of value coming from freedom.

The Forums are a nice way to network with people, but I can do that outside of freedom. I was interested in posting in the creations forums for legitimate criticisms, and helpful tips to improve my videos, but even though I had to wait until 30 posts "to weed out all the people who just want to advertise their videos" thats still all anyone does in the creations forums is post their videos or channels with a generic "Like and Subscribe for more" The rules even say "We are your colleagues, not your audience" but people don't seem to get that.

Some of the services like Audio Micro, and Epoxy are useful, but those are also offered by every other network pretty much, and there are plenty of free resources for royalty free music, and being a small channel, I don't really have the need for Epoxy yet.

I've met a few GFX artists through this site and got some commissions done, and that is good, but again thats something that I didn't need freedom for, I could have gone to any other forum site for that.

I get that the whole "anybody can join" thing is good for small channels who legitimately want to grow, but there are so many people who post here just as another place to advertise and push their content without actually contributing to anything. I know I'm a small channel, but at least I try to give helpful advice where I can.