VR Be The Change Gaming Journalism Needs!

• Thread starter Deleted member 2132
  • Start date
D

Deleted member 2132

You might be just what I need. But rather than making this about me. Let's make it about us.

A little about me though:

I am Dylan Graham. You can call me Codewow if you so choose. I'm 21 years old. I have been a gamer for almost as long as I can remember. I'm also an ameatur web developer and drummer.

Now, what this whole thing is about:

The project: Gaming journalism website: Game Golem.

The problem: Gaming journalism, as well as journalism in general is filled with corruption. People being bought for good reviews. It's become more apparent recently with things such as GamerGate. Biased reviews also play a role. Ultimately leaving a sour taste in the reader's mouth.

Our solution: Game Golem is a gaming journalism website first and foremost. It's brand new. I'm building it from the ground up with the limited knowledge I have in web development. We intend to take gaming journalism in a direction that almost every major gaming site has failed to do.

We are going to be transparent. I own every aspect of Game Golem. Thus allowing me to control every aspect. -- Don't worry, I build on feedback and suggestion. I'm not a power hungry individual. I would rather work with people than have them working for me. With the control I have and the collaboration we participate in, we could single handedly change gaming journalism for the better.

"But how would we manage this?"
-- Good question! We will manage this by trying to bring in as many perspectives as possible. A written review of a video game doesn't deserve to have a number placed over it based one just that one reviewers subjective view on the game. Because bias reviews are a problem for many people we intend to include multiple individual perspectives on each review.